- Adult Entertainment
- Animal Care Facilities
- Arbovirus Sentinel Chicken Surveillance
- Biomedical Waste
- Body Piercing
- Drowning Prevention
- Food Safety and Sanitation
- Group Care
- Healthy Beaches
- Indoor Air, Mold, and Radon
- Mobile Home and RV Parks
- PACE EH
- Pools and Spas
- Sanitary Nuisances
- Well Construction
Conventional and Cosmetic Tattooing
Effective January 1, 2012, sections 381.00771 - 381.00791, Florida Statutes (F.S.), The Practice of Tattooing authorized the Florida Department of Health to regulate activities associated with tattooing. These statutes require licensure of tattoo artists and tattoo establishments as well as outline operational requirements for tattoo establishments and educational requirements/standards of practice for conventional and cosmetic tattoo artists. Chapter 64E-28, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), which became effective September 5, 2012, provides details regarding requirements for tattoo establishments and artists. The Florida Department of Health in Brevard County is responsible for the licensure of all tattoo establishments within Brevard County and all tattoo artists that reside in Brevard County. Application forms for tattoo establishments and tattoo artists are available below.
Tattoo Establishment Licensure
A tattoo establishment in Brevard County shall complete an Application for Tattoo Establishment DH Form 4151 in its entirety and submit it along with the applicable fee of $220.00 ($200.00 state rule designated/$20.00 county fee resolution) to the Florida Department of Health in Brevard County. Licenses must be renewed annually; failure to renew on time will result in the reactivation fee of $75.00. A satisfactory inspection is required prior to the issuance of a Tattoo Establishment License. Tattoo establishments must also maintain a biomedical waste generator permit. For information on obtaining a biomedical waste generator permit in Brevard County please visit the Florida Department of Health in Brevard County's Biomedical Waste page.
Tattoo Artist Licensure
Tattoo artists that reside in Brevard County and have successfully completed the required educational course shall submit an Application for Tattoo Artist License DH Form 4147 along with all supporting documentation and the required $60 fee to the Florida Department of Health in Brevard County. Licenses must be renewed annually; failure to renew on time will result in the reactivation fee of $25.00. All persons who tattoo the body of a human being must be licensed in Florida as a tattoo artist. This includes persons who practice cosmetic tattooing, which is also known as permanent makeup or micropigmentation, and students or apprentices who tattoo human beings as part of their tattoo training. Effective January 1, 2013, any unlicensed person engaged in tattooing will be subject to administrative penalties. Tattoo Artists residing outside Brevard County should contact their local county health department to obtain tattoo artist licensure. Educational courses approved by the Florida Department of Health can be found at https://www.floridahealth.gov/environmental-health/tattooing/tattoo-educational-materials.html.
Guest Tattoo Artist Registration
Guest tattoo artists that plan to tattoo in Brevard County and who also hold an active license, registration, or certification issued by a jurisdiction outside of Florida shall submit an Application for Guest Tattoo Artist Registration DH Form 4150 along with all supporting documentation and the required $35 fee to the Florida Department of Health in Brevard County. A guest artist registration is valid for up to 14 consecutive days. Effective January 1, 2013, any unregistered person engaged in tattooing will be subject to administrative penalties.
Applications, supporting documentation and applicable fees (made payable to DOH-Brevard) may be sent to the Florida Department of Health in Brevard County, 2725 Judge Fran Jamieson Way, Ste A116, Viera, FL 32940.
For more information on tattooing in the State of Florida, please visit https://www.floridahealth.gov/environmental-health/tattooing/index.html.
- Application for Tattoo Establishment License DH 4151
- Application for Tattoo Artist License DH 4147
- Application for Guest Tattoo Artist Registration DH 4150
- Tattooing Rules - Chapter 64E-28, F.A.C.
- Tattooing Statutes - Section 381.00771 - 381.00791, F.S.
- Written Notarized Consent for Tattooing of a Minor DH 4146
*Note: This page contains materials in the Portable Document Format (PDF). The free Adobe Reader may be required to view these files.